I’ve been bad…

… I haven’t listed out dinners for almost 2 weeks.

I know this as I have each nights dinner scrawled on my fridge blackboard. Its actually been quite enlightening as it shows how much variation there can be.

So here we go:

  • Pork chops with vegetables
  • Lamb Steak with salad and homemade chips
  • Apricot chicken with rice and beans
  • Lamb Rissoles with vegetables
  • Roast chicken with roasted potato, pumpkin, beetroot and steamed beans
  • Tempura Fish and homemade chips
  • Pork stirfry with fried rice
  • Pork sausages with fried potato and peas (this was a Dad creation as I was attending a lecture)
  • Chicken Korma curry with rice and peas
  • Pork Sausages – a slack night where this was all we felt like – no veges.
  • Lamb casserole made with chops, potato, pumpkin and carrot and served with a side of Kale and red cabbage sautéed with bacon and garlic until wilted.
  • Lamb spaghetti Bolognese with rice pasta for our son and rice and corn pasta for the rest of us.
  • Pumpkin soup made with stock made from the carcase of the roast chickenwith GFDFCFSF bread rolls
  • Devilled Sausages with mashed potato and peas

Wow, it really has been a while!

I’m still not having success with baking though. Those ‘yummy’ fig and honey muffins didn’t turn out very well.  My raspberry and apple variation sounded yummy but tasted tart and its pinky brown colour made them look like half cooked rissoles. Next I made it to the recipe but I didn’t like the gritty texture of the figs.  My mum said she often made it with sultanas as she didn’t like the texture of the figs either. Dates or apricots might work well too.

I have soaked some nuts this week so our son can have his much adored cashews without it upsetting him. I’m so glad I asked my mum if I could have her dehydrator.  I put the nuts in to soak in the morning, drain whilst I’m preparing dinner, put on to dry out over night in the dehydrator and in the morning they are done.  From these I will make my own nut flours as I think I should soak the nuts first before grinding into flour so as not to upset our sons stomach as he obviously can’t digest unsoaked nuts.  I will do a post about the benefits of soaking nuts soon.

Coconut flour is also on my radar. I can buy organic dessicated coconut and I want to try making coconut milk with it and using the left over pulp to grind into flour.  I will buy a bag of commercial coconut flour, which apparently is defatted, to compare it with.  Hopefully they are similar and I can use this possible waste product in my baking. Its very low GI and high in fibre, so a very healthy baking ingredient.

Fortunately I have a week with my mum soon so we can experiment. She has already been trying out recipes for me and my dad says the carrot cake she made was quite good.  I can’t wait.  Lets just hope the Chilean volcanic ash cloud doesn’t disrupt our travel plans.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Baking, Corn Free (CF), Dairy Free (DF), Gluten Free (GF), Grain Free, Meal Plans, Soy Free (SF)

Leave a Reply

